Two JPPSS Students Win $2500 National Merit Scholarships

Nameera Islam

Two Jefferson Parish Public School System students have been named National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Nameera N. Islam from Haynes Academy and Jacob A. LeBlanc of Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy are two of the nation’s 2,500 Merit Scholar designees. They were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 Finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Jacob LeBlanc

Islam’s probable career field is public health. The Joe W. and Dorothy Dorsett Brown Foundation recently named her a 2018 Emmy Noether Scholar, which goes to aspiring female scientists who have already conducted research at a major university or scientific institution. LeBlanc’s probable career field is chemical engineering. He recently earned a perfect score of 36 on the ACT, an accomplishment earned by less than one-tenth of 1% of students who take the ACT.

Eight JPPSS students were named 2018 National Merit Finalists. National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. This is the second announcement of National Merit Scholars in 2018. The NMSC will name winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards on June 6 and July 16. By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,500 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.