Three JPPSS Students Named National Merit Scholars

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation named three Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) students National Merit Scholars. Jessica Ding of Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Kayla Tarr of Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy, and Ryan Vedros of Thomas Jefferson High School earned the prestigious designation of Merit Scholar and will each be awarded a $2,500 scholarship from the national organization.

2,500 students were named Merit Scholars from a pool of 15,000 finalists in this latest designation. Scholarship winners are selected based on a combination of accomplishments, skills, and the potential for success in a challenging college environment. A committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors select the scholars.