Two JPPSS Schools Named Blue Ribbon Schools

Two schools within the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) were named as 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools today by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Ella Dolhonde Elementary School and Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies were two of the six Louisiana schools honored. A total of 286 schools were recognized nationally.

“Congratulations to the students and the staff of Dolhonde and Haynes for this national honor,” said Superintendent James Meza, Jr. “We in the Jefferson Parish community are extremely proud of these schools for their hard work and outstanding performance.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program began in 1982 to honor schools for their overall academic excellence or their progress in improving student academic achievement.

Dolhonde and Haynes are the fourth and fifth schools in JPPSS to be named a Blue Ribbon School in since 2010. Past honorees in the district include Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, a 2010 Blue Ribbon School, Metairie Academy for Advanced Studies, recognized in 2011, and Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies, which was recognized in 2012.

Both 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored November 18 – 19, 2013 at a recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C. For a full list of the 2013 National Blue Ribbon schools, visit