Three JPPSS educators honored as 2016 American Petroleum Institute Teacher Awardees

Each year, the American Petroleum Institute (API) Delta Chapter recognizes distinguished educators in the region’s schools. This year, API honored three educators in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS).

The 2016 spring recognition reception was held June 7 at the Louisiana Children’s Museum. API Chairman Tessa Wiggins presented certificates and checks to JPPSS teachers Angela Charles (William Hart Elementary), Charlene Byrd (John Q. Adams Middle School) and Sue Nugent (T.H. Harris Middle School). Present at the reception to support these awardees were district Chief Academic Officer Debra Copper, Director of Elementary School Instruction Sabrina Smith, Adams Middle principal Chuck DiLauro, and T.H. Harris Middle principal Chip Guichet.

From left to right: Charlene Byrd, Angela Charles, and Suzanne Nugent

From left to right: Charlene Byrd, Angela Charles, and Suzanne Nugent

The API Teacher Award Program was established in 1987 to pay tribute to and reinforce outstanding teaching in the metropolitan New Orleans area.  API is committed to classroom teachers by encouraging excellence and recognizing the untiring efforts of educators who provide quality services to students with minimal compensation and who often supplement materials using their own resources.  The annual API program uses three categories: Service in Teaching Award ($200), Distinguished Teacher Award ($300), and Chairman’s Award ($500) to honor commitment to teaching, resourcefulness, professional involvement and community service.

Teachers, who are nominated by the district leadership teams, complete and submit an application packet.  A committee of API Delta Chapter members review, score and rank the application packets using a selection criterion which includes commitment to teaching, resourcefulness, professional involvement and community service.

2016 JPPSS Teacher Awardees

 Service in Teaching: Angela Charles

Angela Charles is a math science teacher who dedicates her best efforts to make sure William Hart Elementary is a school that empowers students for success. Her focus is to have her students want to continue to learn.  She has served the Hart School community as a teacher, parent, and mentor to many.  She wants to be better able to serve her English Language Learners.

Distinguished Teacher: Charlene Byrd

Charlene is an 8th grade science teacher at John Adams Middle School. Her students have participated in FIRST LEGO LEAGUE Robotics and the GNOSEF. She has participated in the Summer Materials Science Institute with CORE Element. Recently she completed the Offshore Energy Facilitator Training focusing on the importance of petroleum based products.

Chairman’s Awardee: Suzanne Nugent

Suzanne is a Special Needs teacher at TH Harris Middle School where she is also the Extended Year Coordinator for her students. Her principal describes her as one of the few who shine as stars in the art of educating students.  Evidence of her role as a leader at the school is found in her training as Compass Evaluator and service on the TAP Leadership Team.