Three JPPSS Students Win $2500 National Merit Scholarships

Pictured from left, JPPSS students Stefan Suazo from Patrick Taylor Academy and Alaa Malik and Allie Sigur from Haynes Academy have been awarded National Merit $2500 Scholarships.

Three Jefferson Parish Public School System students have been named National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Alaa N. Malik and Allie Sigur from Haynes Academy and Stefan L. Suazo of Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy are three of the nation’s 2,500 Merit Scholar designees. They were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 Finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Fifteen JPPSS students were named 2017 National Merit Finalists. Today’s announcement makes four JPPSS students who have been named National Merit Scholars this year. In April, Haynes Academy’s Ashton C. Edler was named a corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winner.

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. This is the second announcement of National Merit Scholars in 2017. The NMSC will name winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards on June 7 and July 17. By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,500 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million.