Three JP Schools Students Win $20,000 Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholarships

Pictured from left, West Jefferson High’s Tyruss Gayden, Higgins High’s Kenny-Khai Vo, and Thomas Jefferson High’s William Harper.

West Jefferson High senior Tyruss Gayden, Thomas Jefferson High senior William Harper, and Higgins High senior Kenny-Khai Vo were announced as three of the four winners of $20,000 college scholarships from the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The three students received the news at the 2019 Awards Luncheon of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation/College Football Hal of Fame on May 7. Twenty-nine local high school football players were recognized for their achievements in the classroom, in the community, and on the football field. The honorees were chosen from a group of nominated scholar athletes from the New Orleans area. Archie Manning, the national chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, recognized each of the 29 student-athletes at the event. From that group of 29, four were selected to receive Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholarships for $20,000 each. The scholarship winners were chosen based on essays submitted after being notified of their selection as scholar-athletes.

Other JP Schools students named 2019 National Football Foundation Scholar Athletes are:

  • Malik Lucas: Bonnabel Magnet Academy High
  • Darrius Harry: East Jefferson High
  • Ahmad Bradley: John Ehret High

Click here to learn more about these scholar athletes.