Three JP Schools Nominated for National Blue Ribbon Award

The Louisiana Department of Education has nominated six public schools to receive 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools awards, and half of them are from the Jefferson Parish Public School System.

Haynes Academy, Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy, and Thomas Jefferson High are in the running for the prestigious honor. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, which is managed by the U.S. Department of Education, honors schools that are either high-performing or have closed achievement gaps, especially among minority or disadvantaged students. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve at high levels.

“We’re proud of the work taking place in these schools to not only move students forward, but to offer an educational experience superior in our state and nation,” said JPPSS Superintendent Dr. Cade Brumley.

The three JP Schools are recognized as “Exemplary High Performing Schools.” They are among the state’s highest-performing schools as measured by state assessments. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates are also at the highest levels.

“We are honored to be nominated as a potential National Blue Ribbon School,” said Haynes Academy Principal Karla Russo. “Our faculty, staff, students, parents, and community work together to create an environment that fosters student achievement and success, and I am proud to see their dedication and commitment to learning recognized.”

“This nomination is not only a huge honor but also a testament to the hard work my students and my teachers do on a daily basis,” said Patrick F. Taylor Principal Jamie Zapico. “They constantly strive for excellence and have such a strong work ethic. I am so proud of my Taylor Tigers!”

“The Thomas Jefferson High School community is thrilled to be nominated for this prestigious distinction. We are proud of our students, staff, teachers, families, and community members that have continually ensured our success as a school,” said Thomas Jefferson High Principal Andrew Vincent. “Thomas Jefferson High School would be honored to be recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School.”

Winners of the 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools awards will be announced in September 2019. Six JP Schools have been named Blue Ribbon Schools since 2010. Past honorees are Patrick F. Taylor (2010), Metairie Academy (2011), Gretna No. 2 Academy (2012), Dolhonde Elementary (2013), Haynes Academy (2013), and Clancy-Maggiore Elementary (2016).

“These six schools stand out for their ability to either steadily improve student achievement over subsequent years or consistently remain one of the top performing schools in the state,” said State Superintendent John White. “This is a commendable achievement worthy of this distinguished honor.”