Ten JPPSS Students Named National Merit Finalists

Ten Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) seniors have achieved finalist standing in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship awards program.

“These ten extraordinary students were selected as finalists based on their excellent academic records, participation in school and community activities, and their outstanding leadership skills,” said Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr. “We are so proud of their accomplishments and wish them well as they compete to become National Merit Scholars.”

The JPPSS National Merit Finalists are:

Bonnabel Magnet Academy
Gabriel R. Rodriguez

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies
Nowrin U. Chowdhury
Jessica Gaethe
Quan-Son Eric Le
Senthil S. Natarajan
Sahil H. Patel
Ahmad M. Razi
Leigh Vila

Thomas Jefferson High School
Paul Gabriel D. Florida

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy
Alexandra D. Baldassaro

The students are part of a group of 15,000 nationally who advanced to finalist standing. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of finalists and will be eligible for one of three types of scholarships. In order to be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, students must be a top scorer in their state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Semifinalists must then fulfill several requirements to advance to the level of finalist.

The finalists will be featured in a television program that will air on JPS-TV Cox Channel 8 in March.