Taylor Academy Awarded Blue Ribbon School for 2010

The Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy received its plaque and flag signifying its status as a National Blue Ribbon School during a ceremony in Washington D.C. on November 16.

Principal Jaime Zapico, teacher Lisa Valance, and school board president Gene Katsanis accepted the awards.

Taylor Academy was named a National Blue Ribbon school in September by the U.S. Department of Education.

The Taylor Academy was one of only four schools in Louisiana to be recognized this year. A total of 304 schools were honored by the U.S. Dept. of Education this year.

The Blue Ribbon School program began in 1982 to honor schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrates dramatic gains in student achievement.