JPPSS Announces Teachers of the Year, Principal of the Year

The Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) announced its honorees for the 2015 Louisiana Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year programs, recognition programs run by the Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) that honor the most exceptional educators from each local school system throughout the state. The JPPSS 2015 Teachers of the Year […]

JPPSS Principal Named Finalist for 2014 Louisiana Principal of the Year

Julie Berner, principal of J.C. Ellis Elementary School in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS), has been selected as a finalist for Louisiana’s 2014 State Principal of the Year. Berner will move on to compete for the state title, which will be announced at the Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium on Friday, July […]

Students, Teachers, Principals of Year Honored

The Students, Teachers, and Principals of the Year for the Jefferson Parish Public School System were honored at the Excellence in Education award ceremony. The annual award ceremony, sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce and Cox Communications, celebrates the accomplishments of students, teachers, and principals from the 2011-2012 school year. Congratulations to our Students, Teachers, […]

Riverdale Principal Named Region 1 High School Principal of the Year

Riverdale High School Principal Denise Carpenter is into the state competition for  Principal of the Year after making it through regional review. Carpenter was selected last month by other principals within the system to represent Jefferson Parish in the annual recognition. “Ms. Carpenter is an outstanding example of what public education can achieve,” said JPPSS Acting […]

School System Nominates Three Administrators for Principal of the Year

The Jefferson Parish Public School System has named three veteran administrators as their nominees for 2011 – 12 Principal of the Year. Elementary Yvette Gauthreaux Audubon Middle Debbie Cooper Ruppel Academy High Darvell Edwards Helen Cox