Taylor Academy Awarded Blue Ribbon School for 2010

The Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy received its plaque and flag signifying its status as a National Blue Ribbon School during a ceremony in Washington D.C. on November 16. Principal Jaime Zapico, teacher Lisa Valance, and school board president Gene Katsanis accepted the awards. Taylor Academy was named a National Blue Ribbon school […]

Four JPPSS Schools Receive Grants from Laura Bush Foundation

Four schools in the Jefferson Parish Public School System were awarded grants from the Laura Bush Foundation that will be used to rebuild and stock the schools’ libraries this year. The four schools were part of a total of 23 schools from the Gulf Coast region that were awarded grants. Schneckenburger Elementary School, Harris Middle […]

Jefferson Public Schools Announce Student of the Year

The Jefferson Parish Public School System selected three students as Student of the Year and all were recognized by Superintendent Dr. Diane Roussel for their “excellent school efforts and their volunteer work in the community.” Metairie Academy fifth grader Injee Hong, Marrero Middle School eighth grader Ricky Tran, and Taylor Academy senior Nhu Ngoc Pham […]