Haynes Student Named Regional Finalist for Student of the Year

Injee Hong, middle school Student of the Year for the Jefferson Parish Public School System, has been named one of 18 regional finalists who will compete for the state title of Student of the Year. Hong, an eighth grader at Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, is no stranger to the spotlight. She was named Louisiana’s […]

Ten JPPSS Students Named National Merit Finalists

Ten Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) seniors have achieved finalist standing in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship awards program. “These ten extraordinary students were selected as finalists based on their excellent academic records, participation in school and community activities, and their outstanding leadership skills,” said Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr. “We are so proud […]

Haynes Celebrates the World

Last December, the Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies offered its school community a chance to travel the world. The sixth annual International Food Festival held at the school represented more than 30 nations. “This is truly one of the most successful events we have here at Haynes,” said principal Jerome Helmstetter. “It began as simply a […]

JPPSS Students of the Year 2012-2013

Three students were recently surprised with a visit from JPPSS Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr., who congratulated the students for being chosen as the “Student of the Year” for elementary, middle, and high school levels. Each honored student received a cookie bouquet as a sweet treat. The 2012 – 2013 JPPSS Students of the Year […]

Ten JPPSS Schools Recognized As Higher Performing Schools

The National Center for Educational Achievement (NCEA) has named ten Jefferson Parish Public Schools to its 2012 Higher Performing Schools list in the state of Louisiana. NCEA, a division of ACT, Inc., is a not-for-profit organization that provides research-based solutions and expertise in higher performing schools, school improvement, and best practice research that lead to […]

Fourteen JPPSS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Fourteen students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named as semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship program. The students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists across the country who will compete for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. “We are extremely […]

Academies Make Newsweek’s List of America’s Best High Schools 2012

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, and Thomas Jefferson Academy for Advanced Studies all ranked in the top 400 of Newsweek’s best 1,000 public high schools in the nation.   Schools highlighted in the list are those that have demonstrated to be the most effective in producing college-ready graduates.  The rankings were based upon […]

Three JPPSS Schools In Newsweek’s 2012 “America’s Best High Schools”

Three schools in the Jefferson Parish Public School System earned top rankings in Newsweek magazine’s annual list of the top high schools in the country. Taylor Academy, Haynes Academy, and Thomas Jefferson High School received top rankings in Newsweek’s 2012 “America’s Best High Schools.”  This is the first time that all three schools were listed in […]

JPPSS Students Dominate Region 9 Science Fair

Students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System dominated the Region 9 Greater New Orleans Science and Engineering Fair held this month at the University of New Orleans by winning almost 70 awards out of a total 246 awards presented following the three-day exhibition. 44 students from eight different JPPSS schools won awards in the junior and […]

Three JPPSS Schools Are In The Final Four

Three schools in the Jefferson Parish Public School System are in the NCAA Men’s Final Four Tournament being held in New Orleans this year. Four schools, Fisher Middle School, Livaudais Middle School, Haynes Academy, and Ruppel Academy participated in the Final Four Middle School Madness Program that qualified three of the schools to travel to […]