Three JPPSS educators honored as 2016 American Petroleum Institute Teacher Awardees

Each year, the American Petroleum Institute (API) Delta Chapter recognizes distinguished educators in the region’s schools. This year, API honored three educators in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS). The 2016 spring recognition reception was held June 7 at the Louisiana Children’s Museum. API Chairman Tessa Wiggins presented certificates and checks to JPPSS teachers […]

Haynes Academy Students Win Kidd Kraddick Music Video Contest

The Talented Music and Talented Theater students at Haynes Academy used their artistic skills to bring national recognition and $1,500 to the school’s arts program. The students, under the direction of Haynes teacher Michelle McLean, won the high school division of The Kidd Kraddick Morning Show’s Classroom Musical Contest. This national contest awarded $1,500 each […]

Lesson on Courage Comes with National Writing Honor for Ruppel Academy Students

Two students at Ruppel Academy for Advanced Studies used a national writing contest to stand up for a cause and add another impressive achievement to this Jefferson Parish Public School. Ruppel eighth graders Kyle Bush and Alex Walker were two of just five students across the U.S. to win the Junior Scholastic Mary Beth Tinker […]

JPPSS Students to Represent Louisiana as National History Day Finalists

HARVEY—(April 30, 2014)—Students from the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been selected as finalists for the 2014 National History Day contest by placing first or second in the Louisiana State History Day Contest, recently held at the National World War II Museum in New Orleans. The theme of this year’s competition was “Rights […]

JPPSS Names Outstanding School Support Employees of the Year

The Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) announced three employees as its Outstanding School Support Employees of the Year: Sally Falcone of Lionel R. Collins Montessori School, Russell Mohamad of T.H. Harris Middle School, and Tammy Dixon of Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy. The three employees are the district’s nominees for the state […]

Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program

Announcing the launch of the 2014-2015 Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching (DA) Program Online Application for K-12 teachers! Eligible applicants: Primary and/or secondary classroom teacher Guidance counselor Curriculum specialist Curriculum head Talented and Gifted coordinator Special Education coordinator Media specialist/librarian You may be eligible to participate in a unique international professional development opportunity for 3-4 […]