Denise Rehm of Butler Elementary Named Louisiana Principal of the Year

rehm-awardThe Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) has named Denise Rehm, principal of Joshua Butler Elementary School in Westwego, as the 2015 Louisiana Principal of the Year during the 8th annual Cecil J. Picard EducatorExcellence Symposium in Baton Rouge. The annual event honors the most exceptional educators from local school systems throughout the state.

“JPPSS is so very proud of Mrs. Rehm and congratulates her for being recognized as this year’s top principal in Louisiana,” said Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr. “She is being honored for her leadership, vision, and innovation that she brings to her staff and students at Butler.”

“Words cannot express the feelings that I have being named the 2015 State Principal of the Year,” said Denise Rehm, principal at Joshua Butler Elementary. “This recognition is a direct reflection of my faculty, students, community members, and my family. I truly believe you are only as good as those people who are around you.”

Rehm has been the principal at Butler since 2009; she also served as the school’s assistant principal for two years prior to her appointment as principal. Under Rehm’s leadership, Butler has improved from a “D” school in 2011-12 to a “B” school in 2012-13. Butler was also named a Top Gains School.

In February, Superintendent Meza recognized Rehm as the district’s Principal of the Year. In May, Rehm was named a 2015 Principal of the Year finalist by the Louisiana Department of Education.