Nine JPPSS Students Named 2015 National Achievement Semifinalists

To read about our National Merit Semifinalists, click here.

Nine students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named as semifinalists in the 2015 National Achievement Scholarship Program.

Representing JPPSS as National Achievement semifinalists are students from Helen Cox High School, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, and Thomas Jefferson High School. These students are among the 1,600 black high school seniors who now have the opportunity to compete for National Achievement scholarship awards. The designated JPPSS students are as follows:

Helen Cox High School
Roderick Daniels II

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies
Darius Hayes
Dennis Stokes

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy
Edward Johnson
Kristen Stamp

Thomas Jefferson High School
Erin Boudoin
Amy Conner
Jerron Johnson
Anfernee Murray

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which also oversees the National Merit Scholarship program. The National Achievement program began in 1964 to recognize and provide scholarships to academically promising black students. Students are initially considered for the program based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

To advance to the finalist level in the competition, semifinalists must show a record of high academic performance throughout high school, receive a recommendation from a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm their Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. All Achievement Scholar awardees will be selected on the basis of their abilities, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.