New Superintendent’s Teacher Council Enhances Educator Influence in JPPSS

Truman Middle teacher Tamica Pollard shares her classroom perspectives during the first JPPSS Superintendent’s Teacher Council.

Jefferson Parish Public School System teachers have a seat at the table thanks to Superintendent Dr. Cade Brumley.

The Superintendent’s Teacher Council held its first meeting recently. This new council provides district leaders with stronger teacher perspective.

“Our teachers know better than anyone what their students need to be successful,” said Dr. Brumley. “If we want to achieve our goal of being the most improved district in Louisiana, we have to do everything we can to make sure our teachers are supported. These educators will help us make better decisions, leading to better outcomes for kids.”

The council consists of 10 elementary, five middle, and five high school teachers. A common theme during the first meeting was that, while there are areas the district needs to improve, teachers are excited about the direction of JPPSS and want to be part of where the system is headed.

Riverdale Middle teacher Lori Colgan shares her classroom perspectives during the first JPPSS Superintendent’s Teacher Council.

“The work of this council will improve student outcomes because communication is key. We need a clear line of communication,” said council member and Ellis Elementary teacher Stacey Meehan. “If we continue to learn from each other, we can go forth and be the leaders that our students need.”

“We will grow even stronger by meeting the needs of more students and families with the new direction of the district,” said council member and Solis Elementary teacher Tangenia Jones. “The town halls, Discovery Days, and coffee chats help serve the needs and concerns of our teachers and families like never before.”

The Teacher Council is one of the new stakeholder councils created by Dr. Brumley. The other committees include: student, parent, principal, special education, and Transformation Network. For more information about these councils, visit

These councils were developed during Dr. Brumley’s 100-day entry plan. It complements the work already taking place to improve outcomes for all students and make JPPSS one of the most improved districts in the state.

The 2018-19 JPPSS Superintendent’s Teacher Council members are:

  • Faten Ahmad: Johnson Gretna Park Elementary
  • Elaina Bergeron: Grace King High
  • Steven Christ: Livaudais Middle
  • Lori Colgan: Riverdale Middle
  • Deborah Fox: Airline Park Academy
  • Sarah Garon: Estelle School
  • Ambrosia Grant: Roosevelt Middle
  • Monique Guitterrez: Bissonet Plaza Elementary
  • Rebeka Haynes: Greenlawn Terrace
  • Tangenia Jones: Solis Elementary
  • Stacey Meehan: J.C. Ellis Elementary
  • Holly Orgeron: Ellender School
  • Brittany Pineda: East Jefferson High
  • Tamica Pollard: Truman Middle
  • Erika Russo: Grace King High
  • Brandi Sauviac: Meisler Middle
  • Stephanie Schmidt: Bissonet Plaza Elementary
  • Diana Sittig: Alexander Elementary
  • Kyle Tate: West Jefferson High
  • Cynthia Wooldridge: Haynes Academy