Metairie Academy Teacher Chosen as State Finalist for Presidential Teaching Award

Claudia Suazo receives LaCue’s award for Educator of the Year, Region 1 of Louisiana. LaCue honors educators who promote the use of technology in the classroom. Suazo is a fourth grade teacher at Metairie Academy for Advanced Studies in Old Metairie.

Claudia Suazo

Claudia Suazo, a fourth grade teacher at Metairie Academy for Advanced Studies, has been selected as a Louisiana State Finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Suazo is now one of three Louisiana elementary school math teachers eligible to receive a PAEMST award, the nation’s highest honor for U.S. K-12 mathematics and science teachers. The awards program is administered by the Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics and the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of The White House.

“Claudia is an amazing member of our school community and an asset to us,” said Metairie Academy Principal Lisa Babin. “She is an outstanding educator who constantly challenges herself to learn ways to become a better teacher in math and science, while integrating the newest technology in her classroom.”

Commonalities among PAEMST awardees have included devoting more time to professional development, incorporating innovative approaches into classroom teaching, and using computers and other technological resources in their classrooms.

“Claudia shares strategies with students and teachers in all grade levels and spends countless hours to make our school better,” said Babin, “extending herself well beyond the walls of her classroom.”

Suazo is one of six state finalists – three mathematics and three science teachers – chosen from 70 state applicants. She is an Educator of the Year for Region 1 of the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators  and has been named a Jefferson Parish Distinguished Digital Educator.

As a state finalist, she will be recognized during a luncheon at the Governor’s Mansion on September 13 and during the 2016 joint math science conference in Baton Rouge on October 25.

Each year, a national committee of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Up to two teachers – mathematics or science – from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories as a group, and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity receives the award. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a $10,000 award and a Presidential certificate.