Keller Elementary’s Samuel Korn Named Regional Finalist for Louisiana Student of the Year


Keller Elementary fifth grade student Samuel Korn has been named a regional finalist for the state’s Student of the Year honor.

A special year just got even more remarkable for Harold Keller Elementary fifth grade student Samuel Korn. The current JPPSS Elementary Student of the Year has been named a regional finalist for the Louisiana Department of Education’s annual Students of the Year competition.

“Congratulations to each of these students for their impressive accomplishments, and for being recognized among Louisiana’s best,” said State Superintendent John White. “These students represent the great potential of young people across the state, and we applaud the positive impact they are making in their classrooms, schools, communities and the state.”

Click here to read more about Korn and the other JPPSS Students of the Year.

The 18 students selected include one 5th, 8th, and 12th grader from each of the state’s six regions and represent public and non-public elementary, middle, and high schools across Louisiana. The finalists will convene at the Louisiana State Museum in Baton Rouge on April 13, 2016, for an awards ceremony and the announcement of the state Students of the Year winners from each grade level.

All public schools, as well as approved non-public schools, were asked to submit one candidate from their student body. District-level winners advance to the regional competitions. Regional selection committees use portfolios of accomplishments created by each student, along with student writing samples and interviews, to assess the communication and critical-thinking skills of each candidate to name the regional finalists. Prior to selecting the three state winners, the State Student Achievement Selection Committee will conduct interviews and review a writing sample from each of the regional finalists.

The finalists are as follows:

Grade 5

  • Anniston Broadway, Natchitoches Magnet Middle School, Natchitoches Parish
  • Sage Bell, Sallie Humble Elementary School, Monroe City Schools District
  • Jordan Batiste, Welsh Elementary School, Jefferson Davis Parish
  • Keagan Rabalais, South Live Oak Elementary School, Livingston Parish
  • Samuel Korn, Harold Keller Elementary School, Jefferson Parish
  • Laura Hamilton, St. Gregory Barbarigo, Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux

Grade 8:

  • Katherine Nevils, Winnfield Middle School, Winn Parish
  • Laura Peters, Jena Junior High School, LaSalle Parish
  • Austin Dellafosse, S.J. Welsh Middle School, Calcasieu Parish
  • Matthew Larsen, Mandeville Junior High School, St. Tammany Parish
  • Hiba Hasan, Dutchtown Middle School, Ascension Parish
  • Porter May, First Baptist Church School, Shreveport

Grade 12:

  • Collin King, Ruston High School, Lincoln Parish
  • Caleb Armstrong, Ouachita Parish High School, Ouachita Parish
  • Cade Herman, Sulphur High School, Calcasieu Parish
  • Zoe Williamson, West Feliciana High School, West Feliciana Parish
  • Cole Grieshop, Destrehan High School, St. Charles Parish
  • John Cresson, Jr., St. Paul’s School, Archdiocese of New Orleans