JPPSS Teachers Selected for National Science Teachers Association Fellowship Program

Leslie St. Julien, a teacher at Truman Middle School and Shelia Banks, a teacher at John Ehret High School have been chosen as Fellows in the 2012-2013 National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) New Science Teacher Academy. Banks and St. Julien are two of eleven NSTA Fellows from Louisiana and are among 244 science educators across the country selected for the yearlong professional development program.

“High quality science instruction is so critical for the future success of our students,” said Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr. “This fellowship program is a great opportunity for two of our talented science educators to further develop their craft and get even better as teachers and leaders in their schools.”

The fellowship program is designed to help promote quality science teaching, enhance teacher confidence and classroom excellence, and improve teacher content knowledge. The 2013 Fellows were selected on the basis of several criteria, including showing evidence of a solid science background and displaying a strong interest in growing as a professional science educator. Each Fellow will receive a comprehensive NSTA membership package, online partnership with trained mentors who teach in the same discipline, and the opportunity to participate in a variety of web-based professional development activities.

Launched during the spring of 2007, the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy, co-founded with a grant from the Amgen Foundation, was established to help reduce the high attrition rate in the science teaching profession by providing professional development and mentoring support to early-career science teachers. Since its inception, the Academy has provided high-quality professional development to more than 800 science teachers nationwide.