JPPSS Students Awarded Posse Scholarships

Eight students from the Jefferson Parish Public School System have been awarded four-year, full tuition scholarships from The Posse Foundation, Inc.

The students, known as Posse Scholars, are part of the inaugural group in New Orleans.

“The Posse Foundation focuses on students who might have been overlooked by the traditional college selection process,” said Acting Superintendent James Meza, Jr. “We are thrilled that our kids will have to opportunity to further their education.”

Scholars are seniors who are nominated by their high schools and are leaders in the school and the community, are committed to their education and demonstrate academic potential, are interested in teamwork and diversity and are positive, motivated and ambitious young people.

The Posse Scholars who will attend Tulane University in New Orleans are:

John Albers               Alfred Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Kenia Carvajal           Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy
Krishell Johnson         L.W. Higgins High School
Melissa Huynh            L.W. Higgins High School
Valeriya Kozmenko    Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

Attending Bard College in Annandale-on-Hudson in New York are:

Angie Delarca              East Jefferson High School
Chelsea Beckford        Thomas Jefferson Magnet High School
Troy Robertson            Helen Cox High School

The scholarships will be awarded at a ceremony in early January 2012.