JPPSS School and School Leader Recognized by the Achievement Network

Johnson/Gretna Park Elementary School and Cherbonnier-Rillieux Elementary School principal Cristin Menyweather were recently recognized by The Achievement Network (ANet) with its School Impact Award and School Leader of the Year Award, respectively.

“Congratulations to all of the staff and students at Johnson/Gretna Park and to Principal Cristin Menyweather for their accomplishments and outstanding work this year,” said Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr.

Johnson/Gretna Park received ANet’s School Impact Award, given annually to the school that has had the most influence on other ANet partners in Louisiana. Johnson/Gretna Park was recognized for setting a high bar for its teachers and students, sharing its practice with other ANet schools, and actively contributing to its peers’ knowledge of what works for students.

“Johnson/Gretna Park has been such an important part of our network this year,” said Michael Ripski, executive director of ANet Louisiana. “They have helped us all recognize how much schools can achieve by coming together to learn from each other around standards and data. We are really honored to count them as one of our partners.”

Cherbonnier-Rillieux Principal Cristin Menyweather was the recipient of the School Leader of the Year Award, which honors a school leader who has demonstrated a focus on excellence and strengthened a school-wide culture of using standards and data to get breakthrough results for students.

ANet partners with schools to help them build strong instructional routines that are grounded in standards and shaped by data. The organization currently works in 36 JPPSS schools and 63 schools in the state of Louisiana.