JPPSS Principal Named Finalist for State Principal of the Year Award

rehmJoshua Butler Elementary School principal Denise Rehm has been named a 2015 Principal of the Year finalist by the Louisiana Department of Education.

“Being a principal is one of the most challenging and important jobs in our district,” said Superintendent James Meza, Jr. “I want to congratulate and thank Mrs. Rehm for her leadership, vision, and innovation that she brings to her staff and students at Butler.”

Rehm has been the principal at Butler since 2009; she also served as the school’s assistant principal for two years prior to her appointment as principal. Under Rehm’s leadership, Butler has improved from a “D” school in 2011-12 to a “B” school in 2012-13. Butler was also named a Top Gains School in 2012-13.

All Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists will be honored at the 8th Annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on Saturday, July 12, 2014 at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. In addition to Rehm, Greenlawn Terrace Elementary School teacher Troy Hobson will be honored at the event as a Teacher of the Year semi-finalist.