JPPSS Names Students of the Year

SOY-2014-bannerThree students were recently surprised with a visit from Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) Superintendent Dr. James Meza Jr. because they were selected as the district’s students of the year.

Elementary student of the year is Metairie Academy fifth grader Rishik Bethi. He has received the Superintendent’s Award, presented to students who earn straight A’s, every year since first grade. He was also the only fourth grader to attend nationals for the Academic Games last year.

Eighth grader Maci Frickey is the middle school student of the year from Fisher Middle. She has received the Superintendent’s Award for the past six years and was named student of the year as a fifth grader at Kerner Elementary.

Haynes Academy senior Alisha Chowdhury is the high school student of the year. She has been elected class president each year since 2009 and plans to attend the University of Pennsylvania.

“Congratulations to these three outstanding students,” said Meza. “We are so proud of their many accomplishments.”

The Students of the Year Awards Program is sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education and is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high, and high school students.

The JPPSS students of the year will now move on to compete at the regional level to become one of 18 finalists for the Louisiana student of the year designation.