JPPSS Educators Named Semi-Finalists for State Teacher and Principal of the Year

state-toy-poyTwo Jefferson Parish Public School System educators were named as semi-finalists in the 2015 teacher and principal of the year competition by the Louisiana Department of Education. More than 50 districts from around the state submitted nominations.

Troy Hobson, 5th grade teacher at Greenlawn Terrace Elementary School in Kenner, moved on in the teacher of the year competition, and Denise Rehm, principal of Joshua Butler Elementary School in Westwego, was named a semi-finalist in the principal of the year category.

Hobson and Rehm will each receive one unannounced visit in the upcoming month from the state to observe the classroom and school in action.

All teacher and principal of the year finalists will be honored at the 8th annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on Saturday, July 12, 2014 at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.