JPPSS Announces New Principal Appointments For 2014-2015

principal-websiteThe Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) today announced new principal appointments for the 2014-2015 school year.

“We are excited to welcome these talented, enthusiastic and energetic leaders to the district,” said Superintendent Dr. James Meza, Jr. “Our new principals have extensive backgrounds in elementary and middle school education. We are confident that we have found the best candidates who are committed to continue our work of delivering high quality education that meets the needs of all our students.”

JPPSS conducted a rigorous selection process that included candidates from the district’s Pipeline Program (LLP), a yearlong program designed to train and build a skilled cohort of potential school leadership candidates for the school district.

“We have raised the bar on our selection process,” said Superintendent Meza. “The Leadership Pipeline is just one way our district is working to have a high quality principal in every school, and it also offers our current principals opportunities to expand their own leadership skills by mentoring aspiring school leaders.”

The new principal appointments are as follows:

Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies – Tamara Warner. Warner has been employed with JPPSS since 2004 and has served as an elementary school teacher and as an assistant principal. Most recently, she served as principal of William Hart Elementary.

Mildred Harris Elementary – Leigh Ann Chiasson. Chiasson is a sixteen-year veteran of the Jefferson Parish Public School System. Her experience started in an elementary classroom followed by serving as a mentor to new JPPSS teachers. Most recently, she served as assistant principal of Ella C Pittman Elementary.

William Hart Elementary – Janeen Weston. Weston has taught English Language Arts in Jefferson Parish since 2011. In addition, she participated in the 2013-2014 Jefferson Parish Leadership Pipeline Program.

Johnson/Gretna Park Elementary – Nancia Sterling. Sterling began her career as an elementary school teacher, and comes to JPPSS with an extensive background in school administration, including curriculum and instruction.

Harold Keller Elementary – Barbara Hogdson. Hogdson is a graduate of the Jefferson Parish Public School System and has experience in elementary education and advancing the achievement of diverse student populations. She participated in the 2013-2014 Jefferson Parish Leadership Pipeline Program.

Roosevelt Middle – John Olson. Olson has been involved in education for more than 20 years, teaching at the elementary, middle and college levels. Most recently, he served as principal of Mildred Harris Elementary.

Truman Middle – Tracy Marvin Guillory. Guillory comes to JPPSS with extensive educational experience as an educator and leader. He started his career as a middle school teacher, and continued as a Human Resources Administrator before becoming a principal.

Washington Montessori – Savina Jasper. Japser brings 15 years of educational experience as a teacher, administrator, an assistant principal and school leader. Most recently, she served as principal of Woodmere Elementary.

Woodland West – Emily Miller. Miller, a fourteen-year veteran of the Jefferson Parish School System, has taught science at the middle and high school levels. In 2005, she achieved National Board Certification in Early Adolescence Sciences.