Jefferson Parish School Board Members Sworn In; Officers Elected for 2015

schoolboardThe Jefferson Parish School Board held a swearing-in ceremony for its members on January 5, 2015 during a special board meeting. Both newly elected and re-elected members were sworn in to begin their four-year term as school board representatives. As its first official action, the board elected their leadership for 2015: District 5 board member Cedric Floyd will serve as president and District 3 board member Ray St. Pierre will serve as vice president.

The school board includes five new members, including Ricky Johnson, District 2; Melinda Bourgeois, District 4; Melinda Doucet, District 7; and Marion Bonura, District 8. Re-elected board members are Ray St. Pierre, District 3; Cedric Floyd, District 5; Larry Dale, District 6; and Sandy Denapolis-Bosarge, District 9.

Photos of the swearing-in ceremony are available on the JPPSS Flickr page. You may also learn more about each board member, including what schools they represent, by visiting their member pages on the school board website.

The next board meeting will be held on Wednesday, February 4, at Bonnabel High School. For a full list of board meetings scheduled for 2015, visit our website at On that page, you will also find links to watch the board meeting online, as well as a board meeting guide that includes basic information about how JPSB meetings are run and how the public may participate.