Gretna No. 2 Academy’s Tamara Warner Named Semi-Finalist for Louisiana Principal of the Year

Tamara Warner

Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies Principal Tamara Warner has been named one of the state’s top educational leaders. The Jefferson Parish Public School System Elementary Principal of the Year is among 24 of the 2018 Principal of the Year Semi-Finalists announced today by the Louisiana Department of Education.

These educators are making exceptional gains with students, pushing them to achieve at the highest levels in the state. All Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists will be honored at the 11th Annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on July 28 at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge. This exciting event is co-sponsored by Dream Teachers. Click here for a full list of the Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists.

Warner is overcome with emotion when surprised with the news that she is the district elementary principal of the year.

Warner has been principal of Gretna No. 2 Academy for two years. The JPPSS Elementary School Principal of the Year makes it a priority to ensure all students, teachers, and parents feel directly supported. Warner has a strong belief in the importance of continuous professional development for her staff and herself. She helps build on the individual strengths of her many teachers in order meet the school’s demanding academic goals.

“Supporting the teaching and learning process within my school is one of the most challenging, yet gratifying, responsibilities as the school leader,” said Warner. “This single aspect of leadership yields the strongest implications regarding students’ academic success and the growth of the school.”

In partnership with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, the Louisiana Department of Education annually honors the state’s most exceptional educators through the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs.

The Louisiana Teacher and Principal of the Year awards programs provide an opportunity to acknowledge those educators who are making exceptional gains with students. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana’s teaching profession.