Greenlawn Terrace Elementary Math Teacher Named Presidential Award State Finalist

Troy Hobson

Greenlawn Terrace Elementary’s Troy Hobson is one step away from winning the nation’s highest honor for a K-12 math and science teacher. The fifth-grade math teacher has been selected as a Louisiana State Finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Program.

Hobson is in his ninth year as a teacher at Greenlawn Terrace Elementary and the Jefferson Parish Public School System. He is now one of three Louisiana math teachers eligible to receive the Presidential Award.

“Mr. Hobson deserves the Presidential Award because he is an outstanding teacher,” said Greenlawn Terrace Elementary Principal Mary DeFusco. “His dedication, commitment, and passion foster the love of math in all his students.”

Hobson has spent all nine years in the classroom at Greenlawn Terrace Elementary, where he started as a substitute before being hired full time. He teaches math this year, but he’s served the school in a number of subjects including science, social studies, and English language arts.

“I really like the light bulb moment when a kid starts to get a skill,” said Hobson. “I love it when I can get them excited about learning math and mastering problems.”

Finalists from every state will now be reviewed by a selection panel at the national level. Hobson, along with the other state finalists, will be honored at a recognition luncheon at the Governor’s Mansion on September 20. Three JPPSS teachers have won the Presidential Award since 2011: Metairie Academy’s Claudia Suazo won the award this past summer, Ruppel Academy’s Kristen Mason received the honor in 2016, and Terrytown Elementary’s Paige Falcon was honored in 2011.

Each year, a national committee of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a $10,000 award and a Presidential certificate.