Fourteen JPPSS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Fourteen students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named as semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship program.

The students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists across the country who will compete for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

“We are extremely proud of our students who have been named as semifinalists,” said Acting Superintendent James Meza. “They are very deserving of this prestigious honor and we wish them luck as they continue into the finalist stage.”

Eleven of the JPPSS semifinalists are from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, which had the fourth largest number of finalists in Louisiana. Five additional Haynes students were recognized as “commended students” by the program.

In order to be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, students must be a top scorer in their state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Semifinalists must then fulfill several requirements to advance to the level of finalist. Approximately 90 percent of students are expected to attain the finalist standing, with more than half winning scholarships.

Students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists are as follows:

Bonnabel Magnet Academy
Gabriel R. Rodriguez

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies
Stevie L. Cavalier
Nowrin U. Chowdhury
Jessica Gaethe
Zaid Khan
Quan-Son Eric Le
Senthil S. Natarajan
Sahil H. Patel
Ahmad M. Razi
Betool Ridha
Noah B. Ross
Leigh Vila

Thomas Jefferson High School
Paul Gabriel D. Florida

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy
Alexandra D. Baldassaro