Five JPPSS Students Named National Merit – Achievement Scholarships

Four students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System were named as National Merit Finalists and one student was named as a National Achievement Finalist for the 2010-2011 school year.

The National Merit Finalists are Hiba Elaasar, Anna Reine, Jordana Williams, and Emily Yu from Haynes Academy.  Chelsey Walker from Haynes Academy was named a National Achievement Finalist.  They are five out of 8,200 students across the country that have been named as Finalists.

Elaasar, Reine, Williams, Yu, and Walker will receive a $2,500 scholarship. Merit Scholarship winners are judged to have the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Every year, more than one million high school students participate in the National Merit Scholarship program.