Fifteen JPPSS Students Named National Merit Finalists

Fifteen students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named 2017 National Merit Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. All 15 of this year’s National Merit Semifinalists from JPPSS advanced as finalists.

“While we are extremely pleased to learn that all of the National Merit Semifinalists from Jefferson Parish have also been named finalists, it is certainly no surprise,” said JPPSS Superintendent Isaac G. Joseph. “All 15 of these students are deserving of this honor and the national recognition. They represent the very best of our parish, our state, and the nation.”

Representing JPPSS are 13 students from Haynes Academy  and two from Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy.

These high school seniors have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million offered in the spring. About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy