Fifteen JPPSS Students Named 2017 National Merit Semifinalists

Fifteen students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named Semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

“Congratulations to these remarkable students for achieving this national honor,” said JPPSS Superintendent Isaac G. Joseph. “Being named a Semifinalist is a tremendous accomplishment, and we wish them the best of luck as the selection process continues.”

Representing JPPSS are 13 students from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies and two from Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy.

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million offered next spring.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.