Eleven JPPSS Students Named National Merit Finalists

Eleven Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) students have been named 2016 National Merit Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. These students are now eligible to receive a National Merit Scholarship. Recipients will be announced in the spring.

“Congratulations to each of these young people on receiving such a tremendous honor on the national stage,” said JPPSS Superintendent Isaac G. Joseph. “It takes a remarkable amount of hard work and dedication to become a National Merit Finalist. We are proud of the investment these students, parents, and their teachers have made in a high quality education.”

Nine students from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies and two from Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy were honored as finalists. Each student is eligible for the approximately 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more that $32 million.

The National Merit Finalists from the district are:

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

  • Andrew Beams
  • Megan Bott
  • Benjamin Edelman
  • Christian Fernandez
  • Gun Kang
  • Han Lee
  • Michael Murphy
  • Justin Turnbull
  • Fang Zhou

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy

  • George Evangeloulis
  • Alexandra Miserendino