Departments
Special Education

501 Manhattan Blvd.
Harvey, LA 70130

504-349-7912

About Us

Special education provides vision, leadership, and expertise to schools and offices regarding the implementation of curricular and instructional initiatives that support the achievement of students with disabilities in compliance with state and federal mandates.

Programs/Services

Click on the following links to learn more about our programs:

Compliance

The department of compliance has a responsibility, under federal statute and regulations, to have a system of general supervision that monitors the implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 (IDEA) by local education agencies, or school districts. The system is accountable for enforcing the requirements and for ensuring continuous improvement. The primary focus of federal and state monitoring activities are to improve educational results and functional outcomes for all children with disabilities and ensure that states meet the program requirements under this part, with a particular emphasis on those requirements that are closely related to improving educational results for children with disabilities.

 

Contact Us

Name Title Email
Allen, Pamela FAPE / LRE and IEP Specialist Pamela.Allen@jppss.k12.la.us
Aucoin, Cheryl Area Special Education Administrative Assistant Cheryl.Aucoin@jppss.k12.la.us
Brown, Megan SER Technician Megan.Brown@jppss.k12.la.us
Green, Delores Special Education Medicaid Clerk Delores.Green@jppss.k12.la.us
Harmann, Geoffrey Special Education Discipline Geoffrey.Harmann@jppss.k12.la.us
Harvey, Carol FAPE / LRE and IEP Specialist Carol.Harvey@jppss.k12.la.us
Joia, Terri Executive Director of Special Education Terri.Joia@jppss.k12.la.us
Kerrin, Rosemary Coordinator of Speech, Hearing and Autism Rosemary.Kerrin@jppss.k12.la.us
Kirk, Precious Coordinator of Child Search Precious.Kirk@jppss.k12.la.us
Louis, Deidra Director of Pupil Appraisal Deidra.Louis@jppss.k12.la.us
Morris, Ashley SER Technician Ashley.Morris@jppss.k12.la.us
Mugge, Cecelia Special Education Medicaid Clerk Cecelia.Mugge@jppss.k12.la.us
O’Steen, Michele Assistive Technology Specialist Michele.O'Steen@jppss.k12.la.us
Perrin, Suzette Director of Speech and Hearing Suzette.Perrin@jppss.k12.la.us
Salsman, Chris Administrative Assistant, Special Education Chris.Salsman@jppss.k12.la.us
Smith, Marie Coordinator of Pupil Appraisal Marie.Smith@jppss.k12.la.us
Soileau, Philip Coordinator of Non-Public/SER/IEP Philip.Soileau@jppss.k12.la.us
Taylor, Sinnidra FAPE / LRE and IEP Specialist Sinnidra.Taylor@jppss.k12.la.us
Trahan, Terri Director of Compliance Terri.Trahan@jppss.k12.la.us
Vacant Coordinator of Compliance and Discipline vacant
Weekley, Judy FAPE / LRE and IEP Specialist Judy.Weekley@jppss.k12.la.us
Wildblood, Terry Area Special Education Administrative Assistant Terry.Wildblood@jppss.k12.la.us