Departments
ESL Program

501 Manhattan Blvd.
Harvey, LA 70058

504-349-7776
504-349-7666 Fax

About Us

The Office of Multilingual Learning directs the English as a Second Language (ESL) programs in Jefferson Parish Public Schools. Our goal is to help limited English proficiency students, including immigrant students attain English proficiency, develop high levels of academic performance and meet the same challenging state content and achievement standards that all children are expected to meet.

Programs & Services

The Office of Multilingual Learning ensures students receive instruction that provides them with comprehensible input. This is accomplished through ESL strategies used by ESL certified teachers, bilingual para-professionals who use the native language to the extent needed by the student to understand the content while they are learning English, and general education teachers who are trained in ESL strategies. In addition, to a reasonable extent, parents are provided information in their native language so that they can fully participate in their child’s education. Please contact The Office of Multilingual Learning, or your child’s school for  translation of school documents and interpretation assistance.

ELL Parent Resources

English Proficiency Testing Centers

ESL Testing Centers

Students new to the Jefferson Parish Public School Systems (JPPSS) must test for English Proficiency at the English Proficiency Testing Center if a language other than English is spoken in their home. Federal regulations require this process to assure that all students, regardless of language, are provided equal access to education.

Downloads

Language Preference Survey Form

Request Form for Interpretation/translation Services

Policies and Procedures Manual

English Language Development Standards Chart

Parent Notification Letters 2016-2017

Testing and Classroom Accommodations

Emergency Cards

Internet Access Agreement

Complaint Procedure

Kindergarten

ESL Policies

Special Education and ELLs

Waiver Forms

Notification of ESL Program Exit

Parents Right To Know Letter

Title III Budget Guidelines and Forms

 High School Graduation Requirements

JPPSS ELDA Training Presentations 2015

JPPSS Monitoring El Student Tracker Form

Contact Us

Name Title Email
Arellano, Gina Bilingual Intake / Registration Clerk gina.arellano@jppss.k12.la.us
Ascencio, Marcelina Migrant Data Technician marcelina.ascencio@jpss.k12.la.us
Baltodano, Monica Bilingual Counselor monica.baltodano-dubey@jppss.k12.la.us
Casiano-Mercado, Mayra Bilingual ELL Parent Liaison mayra.casiano@jppss.k12.la.us
Castillo, Karina Director of ELL Instruction karina.castillo@jppss.k12.la.us
Chatelain, Dalia Bilingual Counselor dalia.chatelain@jppss.k12.la.us
Ferreira, Osiris Bilingual Special Education Para osiris.ferreira@jppss.k12.la.us
Hernandez, Areli Bilingual ELL Parent Liaison areli.hernandez@jppss.k12.la.us
Orellana, Livia Migrant/Indian Education Recruiter livia.orellana@jppss.k12.la.us
Penton, Luisa Interpreter/Translator Liaison Luisa.Penton@jppss.k12.la.us
Riad-Henes, Anwar Bilingual Special Education Para anwar.riad-henes@jppss.k12.la.us
Sostenes, Cinthia Bilingual Intake / Registration Clerk cinthia.sostenes@jppss.k12.la.us
Tran, Bang Migrant Advocate bang.tran@jppss.k12.la.us
Wisinski, Carmen Bilingual Social Worker carmen.wisinski@jppss.k12.la.us