33 JPPSS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Thirty-three students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System (JPPSS) have been named Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Haynes Academy leads the way in JPPSS and the state. Their school record 24 National Merit Semifinalists is the most in Louisiana for a public school. Patrick F. Taylor Academy has a school record eight Semifinalists. Thomas Jefferson High has one Semifinalist.

“These young people display excellence in everything they do,” said JPPSS Superintendent Dr. Cade Brumley. “This is only the beginning of their success. They have a long way to go, and I know the best is yet to come for each and every one of them.”

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million offered next spring.

Over 1.6 million juniors in about 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

The 2019 National Merit Semifinalists in JPPSS are:

Haynes Academy

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy

Thomas Jefferson High