Teacher of the Year Banquet Honors Best in JPPSS

The Jefferson Parish Public School System recognized excellence in education during its annual Teacher of the Year Awards Ceremony Luncheon May 18 at The Four Columns in Harvey. The Teacher of the Year from every JPPSS school was honored during this event that was attended by Jefferson Parish School Board members, business and community stakeholders, and school and district leaders.

Melissa Sallinger, second from left, received the Lucien Gunter Excellence in Teaching Award from the Jefferson Business Council. She’s pictured with, from left, JPPSS teachers Doha Mosrie and LaDonna Smith, JBC Chairman Mickal Adler and Executive Director Tony Ligi, and JPPSS Superintendent Isaac G. Joseph.

Jefferson Business Council Executive Director Tony Ligi and Chairman Mickal Adler presented the Lucien Gunter Excellence in Teaching Award to Bonnabel Magnet Academy High Teacher of the Year Melissa Sallinger. Sallinger is also the JPPSS High School Teacher of the Year.

You can watch the entire ceremony above or click here to view the photo gallery. Below is a list of all our Teachers of the Year.

Adams Middle: Danita Brown
Airline Park Academy: Ann C. Heath
Alexander Elementary: Howard Hayes
Allen Ellender School: William Sayles Jr.
Audubon Elementary: Stephanie Melan
Birney Elementary: Deborah Poche
Bissonet Plaza Elementary: Elisa Western
Bonnabel Connections: Jane Russo
Bonnabel Magnet Academy High: Melissa Sallinger
Boudreaux Elementary: Faith Chauvin
Bridgedale Elementary: Joan Albarado
Butler Elementary: Rikki Templet
Chateau Estates School: Renee Hall
Cherbonnier-Rilleux Elementary: Faith Michot
Clancy-Maggiore School for the Arts: Pamela Simoneaux
Collins Montessori School: Crystal Marshall
Cox Elementary: Persephonie Foster
Cuillier Career Center: Michael Taylor
Dolhonde Elementary: Molly Huggins
Douglass Elementary: Coretta Brown
East Jefferson High: Kristi Christian
Ehret Connections: Paula Johnson
Ellis Elementary: Jennifer Hazelwood
Estelle School: Jenea Hatty
Fisher Middle-High: Paige Falcon
Ford Middle: Kristie Wortham
Grace King High: Katharine Da Silva
Grand Isle School: Racheal Vaughn
Greenlawn Terrace Elementary: Jessica Sanchez
Green Park Elementary: Chandrika Furtick
Gretna Middle: Rene Smith
Gretna No. 2 Academy: Melissa Comeaux
Harris Elementary: Lori Pittman
Harris Middle: Karon Oldham
Hart Elementary: Trudy Allen
Harahan Elementary: Sarah Aucoin
Haynes Academy: Roxane Coron
Hazel Park/Hilda Knoff Elementary: Katherine Smart
Hearst Elementary: Robyn Gentinetta
Helen Cox High: Bonita Hall
Higgins High: Kathy Pechon
Janet Elementary: Gilda Grana
Jefferson Elementary: Sherry Barcia
John Ehret High: Daniel Baker
John Martyn Community School: Kenneth Jackson
Johnson Gretna Park Elementary: Kelly McCoy
Keller Elementary: Doha Mosrie
Kerner Elementary: Melanie Morales-Poche’
Lincoln School for the Arts: Shawn Hampton
Livaudais Middle: Reginald Joseph
Live Oak Manor Elementary: Joy Bridges
Marrero Academy: Julie Kleppner
Marrero Middle: Alexia Thompson
Matas Elementary: Edwin Dorvin IV
McDonogh 26 Elementary: Keia Jones
Meisler Middle: Gina Lagarrigue
Metairie Academy: Kim Bourgeois
Miller Wall Elementary: Linda Toncrey
Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy: Margaret Grindstaff
Pitre Elementary: Danielle Lewis
Pittman Elementary: Melanie Lemonier
Riverdale High: Nicholas Sonnier
Riverdale Middle: Stacey Miller
Riviere Elementary: Adrienne Arrillaga
Roosevelt Middle: Annette Hagan
Ruppel Academy: Bridgette Bangs
Schneckenburger Elementary: Valerie Touchet
Solis Elementary: Terri Johnson
Strehle Elementary: Kristen Burke
St. Ville Elementary: Ava Samuel
Terrytown Elementary: Dusty Harrison
Thibodeaux Elementary: Kacey Albert
Thomas Jefferson High: Katherine Gaumond
Truman Middle: Kazanna Mancuso
Washington Montessori School: Daquana Williams
West Bank Community School: Donya Bazile
West Jefferson High: Kim Conner-Davis
Woodland West Elementary: Kimbrelle Payne
Woods Elementary: Shirlanda Joseph
Worley Middle: LaDonna Smith