Sixteen JPPSS Students Named 2016 National Merit Semifinalists

natlmerit-webSixteen high school seniors in the Jefferson Parish Public School System were named National Merit Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Thirteen students from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, two from Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy, and one from Thomas Jefferson High were honored as Semifinalists. Each student is eligible for the approximately 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more that $32 million that will be awarded next spring.

In all, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation named approximately 16,000 semifinalists. Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.
About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half
of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

  • Andrew Beams
  • Madison Benoit
  • Megan Bott
  • Benjamin Edelman
  • Hamna Fatima
  • Christian Fernandez
  • Brian Hinkamp
  • Gun Kang
  • Han Lee
  • Michael Murphy
  • Justin Turnbull
  • Sabrina Walch
  • Fang Zhou

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy

  • George Evangeloulis
  • Alexandra Miserendino

Thomas Jefferson High

  • Allie Kast